• Get Paid to Write for Comando Supremo: We are looking for talented researchers/writers who are fluent in English and can write original content on Italy in World War Two. Please reach out to webmaster@comandosupremo.com if interested!

Additional platoons in Ariete at El Alamein

Kustosz2137

Hello again! Sorry for posting many short threads recently (I hope it doesn't counts as spamming), but I just can't find answers for my questions anywhere else. Anyways; today I have met with information, that Ariete division received two additional platoons for their companies for El Alamein operations, rising amount of them from 3 to 5 per company. It's my first time ever meeting with that information, so I'm kinda suspicious here. Did this really happened, or is it another imaginary episode of someone's, like many others in the internet?

Kustosz2137

And a picture that I forgot to attach
IMG_20230222_124442.jpg

jwsleser

Administrator
Staff member
Kustosz2137

Don't worry about posting, it is the reason the forum exists. Ask away.

It would help if you provide the source of this new information (i.e. additional platoons). Where did you read this? What did the source actually state.

Pista! Jeff

The workforce of the 132nd Tank Regiment at the time of the battle of El Alamein provided for a theoretical total of 189 tanks divided into 33 tanks of which 6 radio tanks in the command and tank reserve company and 52 theoretical tanks in each tank battalion (4 tanks in the headquarters and 16 tanks for each of the three tank companies of the battalion). Each company consisted of a command tank and three platoons of 5 tanks each. Therefore, it does not appear to me that at the time of the battle the division had received replacements or additional tank platoons, indeed at the time of the start of the fighting it had a total of 129 tanks instead of the 189 foreseen.
All the best
Maurizio

Kustosz2137

Kustosz2137