• Get Paid to Write for Comando Supremo: We are looking for talented researchers/writers who are fluent in English and can write original content on Italy in World War Two. Please reach out to webmaster@comandosupremo.com if interested!

Differences in trousers

Ironmaiden2000

So I know that there are multiple trousers used, but i am confused about the 1935 model that sort of resemble regular trousers. I have seen pictures of mostly the MAS wearing what looks like them but what would regulate appearance. More so I am asking because I want to know what a blackshirt in the ARMIR would wear. If I remember correctly the MVSN had a black stripe along their trousers

jwsleser

Administrator
Staff member
I am not sure what you are asking but here is my best try. I am not an expert on the MVSN uniforms, so hopefully others will add to the thread.

The long khaki pants were developed and issued for the Ethiopian campaign. They weren't regular issue. The pantaloni M41 were developed for the paracadutisti and adopted by the sciatori alpini. These were modeled on the Ethiopia design but were never general issue during WW2. They were widely used by the RSI units.

The few pictures I have looked at of the MVSN in Russia show them wearing the standard M40 pantaloni. The regulations state the black stripe, but again pictures should tell the story. if the MVSN units were drawing from army stores, the stripe wouldn't be present.

Pista! Jeff

Ironmaiden2000

I am not sure what you are asking but here is my best try. I am not an expert on the MVSN uniforms, so hopefully others will add to the thread.

The long khaki pants were developed and issued for the Ethiopian campaign. They weren't regular issue. The pantaloni M41 were developed for the paracadutisti and adopted by the sciatori alpini. These were modeled on the Ethiopia design but were never general issue during WW2. They were widely used by the RSI units.