• Get Paid to Write for Comando Supremo: We are looking for talented researchers/writers who are fluent in English and can write original content on Italy in World War Two. Please reach out to webmaster@comandosupremo.com if interested!

Conscription

kimmar1

Hello. I am new to this site - apologies if I'm busting some rules:) I have looked at Discussion but can't find what I'm after. I am a historian and I write for the Ancient History Encyclopedia. By night, I'm a fiction writer and am currently writing a novel set in northern Italy in the run-up to Sept 8 1943. One thing I really need clarification on is - what were the reserved occupations or medical reasons that would mean a younger man would not be conscripted into the Italian Army? Was it like other countries where occupations such as a doctor, priest, post office workers, university students/lecturers were not always subject to draft? I have read a ton of memoirs etc but nothing specifically says "this is why I wasn't drafted". Thanks in advance and I am looking forward to learning a lot from the site. Glad I found it.

Dili

Sorry i don't know that kind of details. I answer your post just for you as a newcomer to not think that you have been ignored.

jwsleser

Administrator
Staff member
Just returned from our Thanksgiving holiday.

The following information is from the TME 30-420 Handbook on the Italian Military Forces 1943. As this is dealing with conscription, I feel the information is fairy accurate, although an Italian source would be preferable.

Pre-military training is from ages 18-20. Males are conscripted at age 21 for 18 months of service. Conscription age was dropped to 18 during the war.

Exemptions:
-Physical disabilities
-Penal offensives
-Individual has been deprived of political rights
-Previous enrollment in any of the various militias
-Mental deficiency

Length of service can be reduced based on family needs:
-Only brother of an orphaned sister.