Home » Tripartite Pact Between Germany, Italy, and Japan

Tripartite Pact Between Germany, Italy, and Japan

by Jim H

What was the Tripartite Pact?

The Tripartite Pact was a defensive alliance signed by Italy, Germany, and Japan one year after the start of World War Two. It was meant to keep the United States from entering the conflict on the side of the Allies.

Signed at Berlin, September 27, 1940

The governments of Germany, Italy and Japan, considering it as a condition precedent of any lasting peace that all nations of the world be given each its own proper place, have decided to stand by and co-operate with one another in regard to their efforts in greater East Asia and regions of Europe respectively wherein it is their prime purpose to establish and maintain a new order of things calculated to promote the mutual prosperity and welfare of the peoples concerned.

Furthermore, it is the desire of the three governments to extend co-operation to such nations in other spheres of the world as may be inclined to put forth endeavors along lines similar to their own, in order that their ultimate aspirations for world peace may thus be realized.

Signing ceremony of the Tripartite Pact.

The signing ceremony of the Tripartite Pact.

Accordingly, the governments of Germany, Italy, and Japan have agreed as follows:

Article One

Japan recognizes and respects the leadership of Germany and Italy in the establishment of a new order in Europe.

Article Two

Germany and Italy recognize and respect the leadership of Japan in the establishment of a new order in greater East Asia.

Article Three

Germany, Italy and Japan agree to co-operate in their efforts on aforesaid lines. They further undertake to assist one another with all political, economic and military means when one of the three contracting powers is attacked by a power at present not involved in the European war or in the Chinese-Japanese conflict.

Article Four

With the view to implementing the present pact, joint technical commissions, members which are to be appointed by the respective governments of Germany, Italy and Japan will meet without delay.

Article Five

Germany, Italy and Japan affirm that the aforesaid terms do not in any way affect the political status which exists at present as between each of the three contracting powers and Soviet Russia.(1)

Article Six

The present pact shall come into effect immediately upon signature and shall remain in force 10 years from the date of its coming into force. At the proper time before the expiration of said term, the high contracting parties shall at the request of any of them enter into negotiations for its renewal.

In faith whereof, the undersigned duly authorized by their respective governments have signed this pact and have affixed hereto their signatures.

Done in triplicate at Berlin, the 27th day of September 1940, in the 19th year of the fascist era, corresponding to the 27th day of the ninth month of the 15th year of Showa (the reign of Emperor Hirohito).

Share Your Thoughts

Related Images:

(Visited 221 times, 1 visits today)

You may also like